You Know What I Mean // Cults


This song has been one of my favorites ever since my near-death in San Francisco. (That in which, I didn’t come close to physically dying, just mentally about to explode from pressure and exhaustion.) Instantly, I was gripped by the 60’s-influenced female vocals that were so light and petite I felt like I was floating. Cults are the perfect example of what every band wishes would happen: They posted demos on their Bandcamp page, became idolized by superstar fans, and then hopped on the music-fest circuit where they continue to rise.

What I love most about this song is the opening hook. That’s because, I can’t take things slowly either. And I feel like my impulse-driven, energy-exploding, bad-decision making, constant-corruption in life attests to this idea of “not taking life slowly”.

I’ve been called every name in the book — feisty, bitchy, a cunt, and my favorite, a thunderstorm. And I react no differently when someone calls me a saint or looks at me like I’ve got a one-way ticket to hell. I told myself a long time ago that I was done excusing my behavior, and while I always give credit and take blame when deserved, I won’t apologize for my brash mouth, over-compulsive habits, high-friction energy, or lack-of-subtle characteristics. It’s just not my thing. What I find most intriguing about myself is that I seem to attract friends and relationships of the same volume. I like people with quirks, I like imperfections, I like uniqueness, and I appreciate people who make mistakes because I always tend to think they are able to self-reflect more than people who think they have it all together.

My best friend is your quintessential impulse-driven person. She has been one of the sole contributors to my ever-changing personality, especially the part that drives me to live on life’s rim. Her first time getting a tattoo, she gets two instead of one. If she wants to take a roadtrip at 2 in the morning, she packs a case of beer and her dog in the backseat. Someone tells her she isn’t invited, she spits back that it’s a free world and she’s allowed to go wherever the fuck she wants. No always means yes and accusations always lead to another form of denial. She lives, breathes, laughs, and fucks in the eyes of the moment and never once does she excuse herself for who and what she is.

I couldn’t live without her. I would be so sheltered and closed off to trying new experiences if I hadn’t adopted her “fuck it” mentality. There are so few people you meet in your life where everything just clicks because you realize you are basically the same person. I have that with her and no matter who tries to get in our way or who has shit to say about it, I’ll never let her go. She’s that person in my life.

Yeah, yeah, yeah. I know what you’re all thinking. You think I’m in love with this girl, eh? Truth be told, I love every part of her. Take it as you will, she’ll be the drunkest girl the day someone decides they want to walk me down the aisle and probably one of the most lost the day I stop breathing.

As for this song, check out this fierce music video that brought a few tears to my eyes.

Extra!!

CLICK for Cults ft. Freddie Gibbs in the “Bad Things” remix.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

